UF’s 2024 Gates Cambridge Scholar Maddie Ross

We are pleased to announce Maddie Ross, a Bio-Chem major here at UF has made history as UF’s 10th Gates Cambridge Scholar. The University of Cambridge, through the Gates Cambridge Scholarship program, annually awards full funding for postgraduate studies to exceptional international students (outside the UK) across all disciplines offered. Selection for these prestigious awards … Read more


story by Heather Krumholtz Congratulations to Whitney Laboratory, UF College of Chemistry graduate student Saje Green who was recently awarded a prestigious fellowship from The National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP)! The fellowship will support three of her graduate years at the Whitney Laboratory and the University of Florida. While at Whitney, Saje intends … Read more

2023-2024 College Faculty Advising/Mentor Award Winner Dr. Boone Prentice

We are pleased to announce the college’s Teaching/Advising Awards Committee has selected Dr. Boone Prentice for the 2023-2024 College Faculty Advising/Mentor Award. The College of Liberal Arts & Sciences (CLAS) started this program to acknowledge and reward outstanding teaching and advising by faculty members which aims to motivate and celebrate exceptional efforts in both teaching and advising by professors. … Read more

National Science Foundation Award’s Dr. Matthew Eddy

The U.S. National Science Foundation has awarded Dr. Matthew Eddy at the University of Florida with a prestigious CAREER award from the Division of Materials Research (DMR).  DMR invests in discovering, designing, and explaining new materials, supporting both fundamental research and the next generation of scientists.   The award will fund research from the Eddy … Read more

Dr. Adrian Roitberg Named Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry

Dr. Adrian Roitberg was named a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) in December 2023, and honor bestowed for his contributions to the field. Honorary Fellows of the RSC, nominated by peers, represent diverse backgrounds, careers, and countries. They include research pioneers, industry leaders, and innovators who significantly impact chemical science advancement. By recognizing Dr. Roitberg with its highest … Read more

2023 Keaffaber Scholar Award Winner Yu Tin Lin

Yu Tin Lin is pursuing a triple major in Chemistry, Statistics, and Biology. He joined thelab of Professor Boone M. Prentice as an undergraduate researcher the spring of hisfreshman year, where his research focuses on developing experimental andcomputational imaging mass spectrometry methods. His experimental researchleverages spatial metabolomics and lipidomics to study sepsis and mitochondrial diseases. … Read more

Dr. Ramon A Miranda Quintana ACS COMP Division Award Winner Spring 2024

The American Chemical Society Computers in Chemistry (COMP) Division has announced its 2024 award recipients. Assistant Professor Ramon A. Miranda Quintana was selected by a panel of distinguished reviewers as one of four winners of the highly competitive ACS OpenEye/Cadence Outstanding Junior Faculty Award for Spring 2024. COMP’s mission is to empower “a diverse community … Read more