Distinguished Professor George Christou

Prof. George Christou receives a 2017 SEC Faculty Achievement Award

Distinguished Professor George Christou is one of fourteen Southeastern Conference (SEC) faculty members who have been named winners of a 2017 SEC Faculty Achievement Award. Established in 2012, these awards honor one faculty member from each SEC university who has excelled in teaching, research and scholarship. Each winner receives an honorarium from the SEC and becomes their university?s nominee for the subsequent SEC Professor of the Year Award to be announced in April. The SEC Universities are Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana State, Mississippi, Mississippi State, Missouri, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas A&M, and Vanderbilt.

Prof. Christou’s research is in synthetic and physical-inorganic chemistry of the transition metals, and spans molecular nanoscience, bioinorganic chemistry, and molecular magnetism.