story by Heather Krumholtz Congratulations to Whitney Laboratory, UF College of Chemistry graduate student Saje Green who was recently awarded a prestigious fellowship from The National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP)! The fellowship will support three of her graduate years at the Whitney Laboratory and the University of Florida. While at Whitney, Saje intends … Read more

Dr. Adrian Roitberg Named Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry

Dr. Adrian Roitberg was named a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) in December 2023, and honor bestowed for his contributions to the field. Honorary Fellows of the RSC, nominated by peers, represent diverse backgrounds, careers, and countries. They include research pioneers, industry leaders, and innovators who significantly impact chemical science advancement. By recognizing Dr. Roitberg with its highest … Read more

Dr. Ramon A Miranda Quintana ACS COMP Division Award Winner Spring 2024

The American Chemical Society Computers in Chemistry (COMP) Division has announced its 2024 award recipients. Assistant Professor Ramon A. Miranda Quintana was selected by a panel of distinguished reviewers as one of four winners of the highly competitive ACS OpenEye/Cadence Outstanding Junior Faculty Award for Spring 2024. COMP’s mission is to empower “a diverse community … Read more

Professor Alberto Perez Awarded the Cadence/OpenEye Outstanding Junior Faculty Award for Fall 2023

Professor Alberto Perez is one of the winners of the Cadence/OpenEye Outstanding Junior Faculty award for Fall 2023 managed by the Computers in Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society. The ACS COMP OpenEye Cadence Molecular Sciences Outstanding Junior Faculty Award program provides $1,000 to up to four outstanding tenure-track junior faculty members to present their work in COMP division … Read more

UF Chemists Score Major Grant for Breakthrough Research in Polymer Science

Polymer chemists Austin Evans and Brent Sumerlin receive U.S. government funding By Brian Smith — April 24, 2023 AUSTIN EVANS and BRENT SUMERLIN from University of Florida’s Department of Chemistry have secured a generous research grant from the U.S government that will fuel their materials science research. The Multidisciplinary University Research Initiatives (MURI) program is a highly competitive grant program funded … Read more

RICK YOST AWARDED 2023 ABRF Award for Outstanding Contributions to Biomolecular Technologies

Professor Rick Yost has been awarded the 2023 ABRF Award for Outstanding Contributions to Biomolecular Technologies.  Dr. Yost is University Professor Emeritus and directs the Southeast Center for Integrated Metabolomics and the NIH National Metabolomics Consortium. He has received the ASMS Award for Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry, the MSACL Award for Distinguished Contribution to … Read more

2023 James and Laura Winefordner Summer Graduate Scholarship

The Analytical Chemistry Division is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2023 James and Laura Winefordner Summer Graduate Scholarship, Tyler Volta. Tyler is a graduate of the University of Florida and a member of Professor Charles Martin’s research group. His dissertation research focuses on the ionic and electronic transport properties of synthetic gold nanotube membranes. Congratulations Tyler!