2020 Dorothy M. and Earl S. Hoffman Scholarship

We are pleased to announce that Christopher Brewer has been selected as a recipient of the 2020 Dorothy M. and Earl S. Hoffman Scholarship, which is one of the AVS National Student Awards.  This award is to recognize and encourage excellence in graduate studies in science that is of interest to AVS.  Christopher Brewer received his BS degree from Florida State University and is a current graduate student in Dr. Lisa McElwee-White’s group.  He studies the photochemistry of organometallic Ru precursors to be used for photoassisted chemical vapor deposition, in collaboration with Dr. Amy Walker at UT-Dallas.  He also studies the application of Ru precursors for focused electron beam induced deposition and has collaborated with Dr. Ivo Utke at EMPA and Dr. Petra Swiderek at University of Bremen.

As a student awardee, Christopher Brewer will be presenting his research during the AVS 67 Virtual Showcase held October 27 – 29, 2020.  His talk titled: “Ru precursors for photoassisted chemical vapor deposition: comparison of allyl and diene complexes” will be at 11:05 am on Tuesday, October 27th and registration is free.

Congratulations Chris!