2018 Tarrant Summer Graduate Awards Announced

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 Tarrant Summer Graduate Research Scholarships. The endowment honors Prof. Paul Tarrant, a member of our department from 1946 to 1981, and this award promotes outstanding research for graduate students working in the division of Organic Chemistry.

This year’s recipients are Xiaoming Su and Ouidad Lahtigui. Xiaoming, who received her B.S. degree in chemistry from Renmin University, is a member of Prof. Lisa McElwee-White’s research group and is working on the design of tungsten oxide precursors for chemical vapor deposition (CVD). Her research also includes film growth study using CVD technique and film characterization. Ouidad received her M.S. degree in chemistry from Strasbourg University and is a member of Prof. Alex Grenning’s research group. Her research involves the development of iterative cyclization strategies to rapidly access the core of bicyclic and tricyclic terpenoid natural products.