2017 Stasch Award announced

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Ann R. Stasch Summer Fellowships. The endowment honors our first woman doctoral student, Ann R. Stasch, Ph.D., 1956 and recognizes excellence in research, scholarship, teaching, leadership and service.

The 2017 recipients are Erica Amato and Kylie Mitchell. Erica, who received her B.S. degree in chemistry from Northern Kentucky University, is a member of Prof. Jon Stewart’s research group and studies biocatalysis as it relates to alkene cleavage reactions. Kylie who received her BS degree from University of Pennsylvania is a member of Dr. Christou’s group. Her research involves using a molecular approach to cerium-dioxide nanoparticles through the synthesis of atomically-precise cerium-dioxide nanoclusters for their application in catalysis and medicine.

Congratulations to Erica and Kylie!