Professor Rick Yost has been awarded the 2021 Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award. Dr. Yost is University Professor and Head of Analytical Chemistry at the University of Florida and directs the Southeast Center for Integrated Metabolomics and the NIH National Metabolomics Consortium. He has received the ASMS Award for Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry, the MSACL Award for Distinguished Contribution to Clinical Mass Spectrometry, and the Florida Academy of Sciences Medal.

This prestigious award was established by the Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh to recognize a scientist’s significant contributions to the field of Analytical Chemistry including the introduction of a significant technique, theory or instrument and providing exceptional training or a fertile environment for progress in Analytical Chemistry. The award, along with an honorarium and a plaque, was presented at the 2021 Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy (Pittcon) during a symposium held in his honor on March 11.

Professor Yost is widely recognized as a world leader in the field of mass spectrometry and analytical chemistry, most notably for his invention of the triple quadrupole mass spectrometer, which has revolutionized important measurements impacting human health and well-being in the fields of drug metabolism, pharmacokinetics, environmental studies, and biological analyses. He has also pioneered the development of other instruments now widely used in commercial systems, including the ion trap, laser microprobe, and ion mobility tandem mass spectrometer. For these seminal and groundbreaking contributions, the Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh is proud to confer this award.

At UF, Professors Herb Laitinen, Jim Winefordner, and Weihong Tan have previously received this award.

To read more: https://www.news-medical.net/news/20210303/Analytical-Mass-Spectrometry-How-Did-We-Get-Here-Where-are-We-Going.aspx#