Dr. Savin Elected To The 2018 Class Of ACS Fellows

Daniel Savin, an associate professor in the Department of Chemistry at the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, has been elected a Fellow of the American Chemical Society. His name was included in the 2018 list of new ACS Fellows published in July in C&E News, and he attended a ceremony for new Fellows on August 20th at the ACS national meeting in Boston. He was recognized for, “Outstanding contributions to the field of polymer physical chemistry, using light scattering for the solution characterization of self-assembling biomaterials and hybrid nanoparticles,” and for, “Outstanding service to the ACS and the Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering through education leadership, community outreach, and promotion of scientific literacy.”

The purpose of the ACS Fellows program is to recognize and honor ACS members for outstanding achievements in and contributions to science, the profession, and the Society. There are only about 1,100 ACS Fellows among the society’s full membership of more than 157,000. He joins Profs. Bartlett, Christou, Dolbier, McElwee-White, Roitberg, and Wagener as ACS Fellows from the UF Department of Chemistry.