New Faculty Hire: Alix Rexford – Biochemistry Lecturer

Dr. Rexford received her bachelor’s degree in Biochemistry from the College of Charleston. She earned her PhD in Biochemistry at Florida State University studying protein-protein interactions involved with the activation of the glycolytic enzyme glucokinase under the guidance of Dr. Brian Miller. Since 2016 she has taught chemistry and biochemistry at Florida State University. Dr. … Read more

Christopher Brewer Receives UF Graduate Student Mentoring Award

Christopher Brewer has been honored with the UF Graduate Student Mentoring Award. This award is presented by the UF Graduate School and all graduate students at UF are eligible. Brewer is a fourth year graduate student in the McElwee-White lab. During his time here he has mentored two undergraduate students (Olivia Hawkins and Nicholas Sheehan) … Read more

Undergraduate researcher in biological chemistry receives CLAS Scholars Award

Alexander Duong, an undergraduate researcher in the Eddy Research Group, was recently named a recipient of a College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) Scholar Award. UF CLAS provides this award to high achieving undergraduate students who show great promise for making significant contributions to original scientific research, and the award provides undergraduate students an … Read more

2019 Tarrant Awards Announced

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 Tarrant Summer Graduate Research Scholarships. The endowment honors Prof. Paul Tarrant, a member of our department from 1946 to 1981, and this award promotes outstanding research for graduate students working in the division of Organic Chemistry. This year’s recipients are Ehsan Fereyduni and Jacob Lessard. … Read more

2019 James and Laura Winefordner Summer Graduate Scholarship Announced

The Analytical Chemistry Division is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2019 James and Laura Winefordner Summer Graduate Scholarship, Mr. Robin Kemperman. Robin is a graduate of HAN University and Applied Sciences and a member of Professor Rick Yost’s research group. His dissertation research focuses on targeted metabolite isomer separation with as goal to … Read more

2019 Herty Medalist

Professor Lisa McElwee-White is the recipient of the 2019 Herty Medal as awarded by the Georgia Section of the American Chemical Society recognizing outstanding work and service by a chemist in the Southeast. Prof. McElwee-White is Colonel Allen R. and Margaret G. Crow Professor and Chair of the Department of Chemistry at The University of … Read more